The U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and Transport Canada (TCCA) have reached an agreement collectively and will rely on the regulatory systems of each other.

The agreement is designed to eliminate the duplicate processes that all three organizations currently face, for example, having safety equipment quickly installed on aircraft. It is expected that the agreement will result in time and money savings for the aviation industry as well as for the three organizations. The agreement allows reciprocal acceptance of a majority of Technical Standard Order (TSO) approvals, eliminating applications, validation and administrative review by all of the entities. It also makes Supplemental Type Certificates (STC) classification easier to accomplish. However, audits will be conducted to ensure the classifications meet established criteria and standards.

For more information visit:

News Articles:

FAA Awards $100 Million for CLEEN II Development

FAA Opens Airport Pavement Research Center

FAA Outlines Program to Address Airborne Network Security

To contact the author of this article, email