Users of Facebook Messenger will be given a 10-minute window to reconsider messages they’ve sent on the social media platform.

The new feature will enable users to delete messages they possibly regret, wiping all evidence of their existence from both the sender’s and the recipient’s feeds.

Detailing the unsend feature, Facebook wrote:

“Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it's been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”

The unsend feature will let regret-filled Facebook users off the hook when it becomes available with the latest Facebook app update.

To contact the author of this article, email mdonlon@globalspec.com